December 4th, 2020

Media Contact

Nicole Bunce

PRESS RELEASE: Virginia Chamber Announces the 2020 Legislators of The Year and Blueprint Virginia Business Advocate Award Recipients

Richmond, Virginia – Moments ago, the Virginia Chamber of Commerce announced the recipients of the Blueprint Virginia 2025 Business Advocate Awards, Legislators of the Year, and Freshman Legislators of the Year. These awards recognize legislators for their support for the principles and initiatives outlined in the Chamber’s long-term economic development plan, Blueprint Virginia 2025.

A recording of the 2020 Legislative Awards Program can be found here.

“The Virginia Chamber of Commerce recognizes the integral role our state legislators play in supporting initiatives to foster economic development, stimulate job growth, and ensure the Commonwealth remains the best state for business,” said Barry DuVal, President and CEO of the Virginia Chamber of Commerce. “In an increasingly competitive national landscape, the support of public policy leaders is key to ensuring Virginia continues to grow and prosper, and we are thankful for the leadership of these legislators.”

The Virginia Chamber recognized Delegate Kathy Byron as the 2020 House Legislator of the Year and Senator Monty Mason as the 2020 Senate Legislator of the Year.

“I am honored to receive this award from the Virginia Chamber, an organization I hold in high regard with members for whom I have the greatest respect,” said Delegate Kathy Byron (Virginia House District 22). “Virginia’s businesses have borne an outsized share of the burden brought on by the pandemic. Working to ensure they have the ability to endure and prosper, providing jobs and livelihoods for Virginia’s families as we emerge from this extraordinary year, should be a priority for every lawmaker.”

“If you care about the well-being of Virginia’s families, you have to care about Virginia’s businesses,” said Senator Monty Mason (Virginia Senate District 01). “We’ve watched them suffer together as the pandemic has taken its toll on our economy. I’m honored to receive this award from the Virginia Chamber and will work even harder to recreate a vibrant economy for the Commonwealth.”

The Chamber also recognized Delegate Rodney Willett as the 2020 Freshman Legislator of the Year from the House of Delegates and Senator Jen Kiggans as the 2020 Freshman Legislator of the Year from the Virginia Senate.

“I’m honored to be named the 2020 Freshman Delegate of the Year by the Virginia Chamber,” said Delegate Rodney Willett (Virginia House District 73). “As a small business entrepreneur, I have seen firsthand how companies can flourish in the business-friendly environment we enjoy in the Commonwealth. When I decided to run for the House of Delegates, I stated on the very first day of my candidacy that I was running to protect and expand that business-friendly environment and to give other entrepreneurs the same opportunities that I have enjoyed.”

“It is an honor to be selected as the Virginia Chamber Freshman Senator of the Year,” said Senator Jen Kiggans (Virginia Senate District 07). “During this unprecedented time, it is more important than ever to be a champion for our small and large businesses. I look forward to continuing to advocate for our business community in the General Assembly and to supporting a pro-business climate here in the Commonwealth of Virginia.”

Full List of 2020 Award Recipients:


2020 Legislators of the Year

Delegate Kathy Byron

Senator Monty Mason


2020 Freshman Legislators of the Year

Delegate Rodney Willett

Senator Jen Kiggans


Blueprint Virginia 2025 Business Advocate Award Winners:

House of Delegates: 

  • Delegate David Bulova
  • Delegate Todd Gilbert
  • Delegate Jason Miyares
  • Delegate Kathleen Murphy
  • Delegate Margaret Ransone
  • Delegate Nick Rush
  • Delegate Luke Torian
  • Delegate Roslyn Tyler
  • Delegate Lee Ware
  • Delegate Tony Wilt

Virginia Senate:  

  • Senator George Barker
  • Senator Siobhan Dunnavant
  • Senator Emmett Hanger
  • Senator Janet Howell
  • Senator Lynwood Lewis
  • Senator Dave Marsden
  • Senator Steve Newman
  • Senator Tommy Norment
  • Senator Mark Obenshain
  • Senator Frank Ruff
  • Senator David Suetterlein